DeiC, DTU, AU and AAU

In 2018, the Danish universities together with the Danish Ministry of Higher Education and Science published Strategi for nationalt samarbejde om digital forskningsinfrastruktur with the purpose of strengthening cooperation between the universities when it comes to research e-infrastructure. In 2020, the new DeiC organization opened 5 calls to establish the national HPC services. The SDU eScience Center together with consortia partners AAU, AU and DTU signed collaborative agreements with DeiC (Danish e-infrastucture Coorperation) for the new HPC centers. The agreements include the establishment of four national HPC systems and a software development project for the national service portal. The eScience Center plays a coordinating role in the consortia for HPC Type 1 (SDU, AU and AAU), Type 3 and Project 5 (SDU, AU and DTU).  


Access to the one of the fastest supercomputers in the world is not only a great opportunity for Danish researchers, it also bodes well for the part that Danish research will play in future breakthroughs in science. LUMI (Large Unified Modern Infrastructure) is a pan-European pre-exascale supercomputer, able to provide computing power of up to 552 petaflops. It is estimated to be fully operational in the middle of 2022. SDU and the other Danish universities participate in LUMI under DeiC, and at SDU, the eScience Center will provide the related user support as part of the SDU Front Office.

Among the exciting possibilities of LUMI are (source CSC): 

  1. It will be one of the world’s leading platforms for artificial intelligence. Researchers will be able to combine AI, especially deep learning, and traditional large scale simulations with massive scale data analytics. 
  2. LUMI’s data analytics partition has 32 an aggregated terabytes of memory and 64 visualization GPUs. This partition is used e.g. for visualization, heavy data analysis, meshing and pre/post-processing.
  3. The global bandwidth of the LUMI-GPU partition is 160 TB/s. This means that the global Internet traffic would fit therein – not just once, but twice!


The EuroHPC Competence Center (or EuroHPC CC) is a large EU-project, joining 34 European countries in the effort to develop and expand HPC competences in each country. The Danish branch of this project (Danish National Competence Center or DK-NCC) is a collaboration between the 8 Danish universities and DeiC. DK-NCC coordinates efforts to facilitate HPC activities, identify and develop HPC competences, especially amongst small and medium-sized businesses, and establish an HPC community in Denmark which encompasses industry, universities and public administration. Specifically, the SDU eScience Center is responsible for the collaboration with industry.


PRACE (Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe) is an international non-for-profit association with 26 member countries that gives researchers access to a pan-European supercomputing infrastructure through a peer review process. PRACE’s mission is to enhance European competitiveness for the benefit of society and to strengthen the European industry’s use of HPC. The SDU eScience center is part of the PRACE-6IP project.


NeiC is a joint initiative between the Nordic countries that brings together needs, interests and resources in order to create excellent e-infrastructure for researchers in the Nordic Region. The strategic partner organisations are CSC (Finland), SNIC (Sweden), UNINETT Sigma2 (Norway), DeiC (Denmark), RH Net (Iceland) and ETAIS (Estonia). Collaborative projects under NeiC, which the SDU eScience Center participates in, include Coderefinery, EOSC-Nordic and Puhuri.


European Open Science Cloud (or EOSC) was initiated by the Commission in 2015 and aims to develop a trusted virtual environment where researchers from all kinds of scientific disciplines can store, share, process and re-use research material in accordance with the FAIR principles. The SDU eScience is a partner in EOSC-Nordic; a project that aims to facilitate the coordination of EOSC relevant initiatives within the Nordic and Baltic countries.


Research areas such as genetics, cancer and precision medicine generate vast amounts of data and require a significant amount of computer power. They also require HPC facilities that meet the appropriate security standards for sensitive personal data. As the first DeiC national HPC provider in Denmark, the SDU eScience Center has obtained the ISO27001 certification, an internationally recognized golden standard for Information Security Management. The Center has established a data processing agreement with the region and it is able to provide HPC services for researchers from OUH.